Do you need some COLD TURKEY in your life?

images

On September 17, 2006 at Dewey’s Pizza in Kirkwood, my sister gave me crap for “cutting back” on drinking the sweet tastiness of Coca-Cola.  I was addicted to Coke. I didn’t drink it all the time but when I went out to eat, I would have 1 or 2 refills and didn’t realize how much I was drinking the goodness of the Lord in liquid form. 

So I told her right then and there, that I am not drinking another Coke, I had to stop by using the COLD TURKEY method, NO MORE COCA-COLA, starting RIGHT NOW.  There it was, I made the decision. 

It wasn’t easy… headaches for about a week and making new decisions when ordering drinks at a restaurant, water became my new friend again. 

Here’s what I am getting at:

Are there things in your life that you need to cold turkey? 

Things that you have known that you don’t want in your life that you have let linger and go on?  It can be deep or really simple, it’s up to you.  Stop eating or drinking this, stop watching so much television, get off the electronics, stop watching those type of movies or going to those websites, there are endless things that are in your life.

These can be positive too… You need to stop making excuses and “just do it” (thanks Nike). Cold turkey excuses, you have wanted to read the Bible more, START doing it NOW. You have wanted to exercise, get out there NOW.  

COLD TURKEY is a DRASTIC CHANGE that you WANT TO OCCUR. 

Have friends to support you, it is difficult to do on your own, if not impossible. Also, I think God wants to be a part of this change in you life. When I was quiting Coke, I prayed a lot that the thought or craving would be removed. Talk to Him.

Where do you need to have some cold turkey in your life right now?

You can do it, stop talking about it and actually do what you have really wanted to do. 

From your former Coke-aholic (6.5 years clean!),

– Your boy KitchNasty

Leave a comment